The Ambrose Archives traces its origins to the Canadian Bible College/Canadian Theological Seminary (CBC/CTS) Archives, which began in the late 1970s. The CBC/CTS Archives became the official repository for the records of the Christian and Missionary Alliance in Canada (CMAC) in 1980, when the CMAC separated from its American parent.
The CBC/CTS Archives became part of the Archibald-Thomson Archives in July 2003, with the beginning of the joint venture between Nazarene University College and what would become Alliance University College.
When the joint venture became Ambrose University College/Ambrose Seminary in September 2007, the Archibald-Thomson Archives became the Ambrose Archives. The Ambrose Archives now houses the records of both parent institutions and their predecessors, the records of the CMAC, and, since 2007, the records of the Church of the Nazarene Canada. It also includes collections on the early history of the Christian and Missionary Alliance and the history of evangelicalism in Canada.
The archives is housed together with a special research collection of books and periodicals on the history and theology of the Christian and Missionary Alliance and the Church of the Nazarene.
1. To collect, organize, describe, preserve, and make available for research selected administrative and historical records of Ambrose University, Ambrose Seminary, and their predecessors and successors.
2. To serve as the official archives of the Christian and Missionary Alliance in Canada (CMAC) and the Church of the Nazarene Canada.
3. To collect select materials on the history of the Christian and Missionary Alliance worldwide to provide support for courses in Alliance doctrine, history, and polity at Ambrose University and Ambrose Seminary.
4. To collect and make available for research select collections of archival materials relating to the history of evangelicalism in Canada.
archives@ambrose.edu