The Ambrose library is the place to go for any research needs! Our collection is tailored to support the programs and courses offered here. Use the tabs at the top of this box to learn about different types of materials you might use for assignments.
Reference sources provide introductory and background information on general or specific topics. Reference sources can help you figure out which key words to use in a catalogue search (link?) and might mention notable works on the topic you're researching, so they make a great starting point for research. Reference sources include: dictionaries and encyclopedias, handbooks, manuals, almanacs, and bibliographies.
The Ambrose Library has a whole Reference section filled with these types of sources. These resources can only be used in the library since they very rarely get read cover to cover. Thus, they will always be available for use when you need them!
Here is an example of a Reference source that can be used in the library:
Use the call number, the combination of letters and numbers in parentheses, to find the book in the Reference section. Ask a library staff member if you need help finding it!
Books provide in-depth coverage on a broad range of topics. If you're struggling to figure out your paper's exact topic and thesis, looking through a book might spark some ideas because it will cover a lot of ground on a topic.
Here is how physical books appear as a search result in the library catalogue:
If a book is in Main Stacks, it can be used in the library or borrowed for two weeks or longer. Use the call number, the combination of letters and numbers in parentheses, to find the book on the shelf. Ask a library staff member if you need help finding it!
Here is how eBooks appear as a search result in the library catalogue:
If you want to use an ebook, simply click the "online access" link and it will redirect you to the book. If you are an Ambrose student, you can access eBooks from anywhere you want, on any device, and you can even download them for offline use.
Articles provide in-depth coverage on specific topics. Articles are often most useful once you have a clear direction for your paper because they are much shorter and more detailed than books. You can find articles in newspapers, magazines, and journals (Scroll down and click the "Peer-Reviewed" tab for tips on how to determine whether a source should be used in academic work). The Ambrose library has a wide selection of articles available for use, both in print and online.
Here is how articles appear as a search result in the library catalogue:
If you want to use an article, simply click the green link and it will redirect you to the article. If you are an Ambrose student, you can access articles from anywhere you want, on any device, and you can even download them for offline use.
Sometimes you will find links to "Journals" instead of individual articles. If you click on these links they will take you to journal sites where you can run a more specific search.
The library also has a collection of print journals and articles. If you see "Journals. Displayed by Title." or "Journals. Bound by Title," that means we have a print copy that you can use in the library or scan to your email address. These will be either on our journal display or in the Print Periodical section of the library which is right next to the Reference section. Please ask a library staff member if you have questions about print journals!
Databases are not individual sources, but big collections of sources. Databases allow you to search for several different sources all within one convenient place. Databases will usually contain articles and reference sources, while others might also include eBooks. For a list of databases by topic, consult this list: databases by subject.
In the next section, Ambrose's English Resources, we will go over some English databases.
Here are some common terms that you might see in an assignment description or while browsing our library catalogue. Use the tabs at the top of this box to learn what these terms mean.
Primary Sources are original materials that contain firsthand testimonies. Primary sources include: letters and diaries, artifacts, photographs, interviews and reports, datasets, law documents, and original research.
Secondary Sources are materials that engage with primary sources but have additional analysis and contextualization. They are one step removed from primary sources. Secondary sources include: documentaries, scholarly books and articles, criticisms and reviews, textbooks, histories, encyclopedias, and commentaries.
Tertiary Sources are even more removed from primary sources. While primary sources are within a specific context and secondary sources analyze said context, tertiary sources instead take away context and analysis and give a broader overview of information. Tertiary sources include: dictionaries, handbooks (like the Chicago Manual of Style), bibliographies, timelines, encyclopedias, and many textbooks. Most tertiary sources are considered Reference materials.
Full Text means that you have access to the entire contents of a publication. An abstract only provides access to a short description of the publication.
Bibliographies are a compilation of all of the sources used in the process of writing a piece of scholarly work and are located at the end of the text. When you find a helpful text, whether it is a reference source, a book, or an article, it is sometimes worth looking through that text's bibliography to see if you should use them in your work. Some of Ambrose library's online resources are linked to other sources, so that might be another way you can further your research. To find out more about this, visit this page: Citation Pathways. For help with writing your own bibliography, please visit the Citation and Bibliography tab in this guide! It is generally expected that you will include a full bibliography at the end of each academic paper you submit.
Some sources are better than others. For academic papers, it is expected that you will use reputable secondary sources. (Primary sources do not need to be peer-reviewed in order to be used in academic papers. Click the first two tabs to learn the difference between primary and secondary sources.) Here are some guidelines that can help you decide whether to use a source for an assignment.