Search the library catalogue for books and other materials in the library's collections. When you find what you're looking for, make a note of the item's availability, collection, and call number:
Available means the book is in the library and on the book shelves, ready for anyone to sign out.
Checked out means that someone else has signed out the book. You are welcome to submit a hold request so that you can borrow the book next. Follow these steps for requesting books online.
Books and journals are shelved in different collections, located in different locations in the library. Most of our books are in the Main Stacks, but many are in Reference, the Chinese Language Collection, the Education Curriculum Collection, and other collections.
Every book has a unique call number or "shelf address" that tells you where the book is located on the shelves. Ask a library staff member for help finding your book, or refer to this information on how to read call numbers.
Now that you know which collection your book is in, use the library map to see where collections are located. Books in each collection are arranged alphabetically by call numbers. Look for signs on the ends of the bookshelves that tell you what range of call numbers is on each row of shelves:
Books are arranged left-to-right on the shelf, and top-to-bottom in a column of shelves:
Book call number labels are usually near the bottom of the spine. Thin books have the label on the front cover, so you'll have to pull the book off the shelf a little bit to see it.
Head to the library's Circulation Desk to sign out your book.
If you can't find what you're looking for, please ask a library staff member; we are here to help!