Main Stacks
The main collection of circulating (i.e., borrowable) books, chosen to support Ambrose University's academic programs. Books in this collection represent the majority of books in the library.
eBooks
Although not a physical collection in the library, our eBook collection is a substantial part of our collection. You can find eBooks by searching the library catalogue.
Reference
The Reference collection contains books that are generally consulted rather than read through cover-to-cover. This section contains atlases, general and subject-specific encyclopedias and dictionaries, second copies of many commentaries, writing guides, etc. Books in the Reference collection are available for library use only, so that they can be accessed by as many people as possible.
Reserve
Reserve materials are kept behind the Circulation Desk. These are current course books that instructors have set aside for their students to read and use. Course reserves can be borrowed for 2 hours at a time. Follow these steps for searching for course reserves.
Chinese Language Collection
Books written in Chinese. Primarily supporting the Theological Studies in Chinese program, this collection has particular strengths in theology and biblical studies. More information can be found on the Chinese Language Collection guide. We currently have one Chinese-language subject guide: 入門指引 - 聖經及神學研究資源 (Biblical & Theological Resources).
Education Curriculum Collection
Books supporting the students in the Education program, including teacher resources, curriculum supports, and children's fiction and non-fiction books. This collection is catalogued in the Dewey Decimal Classification system.
Education Kits
This collection is a subset of the Education Curriculum Collection and includes educational assessment sets, numeracy manipulatives, and other multi-part sets/kits. This collection is catalogued in the Dewey Decimal Classification system.
Picture Books
This collection is a subset of the Education Curriculum Collection and includes children's fiction and non-fiction picture books. This collection is catalogued in the Dewey Decimal Classification system.
Display Shelving
Books that have been recently acquired by the library may be placed in a New Books display (on top of the print periodicals and CD/DVD shelving). The library also creates rotating thematic displays connecting with timely topics, institutional activities, and seasonal events.
Oversize
Books that are too large to fit on the shelves in the Main Stacks are kept in the Oversize section. There is also a small Extra Oversize section at the end of Oversize for books that are too large to fit on the Oversize shelves!
Special Collection
Books related to the Christian and Missionary Alliance and Church of the Nazarene. These books are only able to be used in the library by requesting them from a library staff member, are housed in the Archives, and are available for library use only. Often, there are copies of these books in the Main Stacks that you can borrow.
Journals
The library subscribes to a number of print journals and magazines. Those we receive current issues of are shelved by alphabetically title in the Displayed by Title Journals section. Back issues are shelved alphabetically by title in Bound by Title Journals, Microfiche, and Microfilm. Journals and magazines are available for library use only. Use the library's Journal Search to see if the library has a journal in print, or through one of our journal article databases.
CD/DVD/LP Collection (also collectively called A/V or Media Collection)
The library has hundreds of CDs, DVDs, and LPs that you can borrow.