Skip to Main Content

Biblical & Theological Resources

What is a Reference Source?

In addition to bibliographies, reference sources are an excellent first stop in your research pathway and are useful for the following:

  • Getting an overview of a topic
  • Getting ideas for a paper topic or narrowing your topic
  • Getting accurate and easy-to-understand definitions
  • Brainstorming keywords for searching and learning the vocabulary used by authors in that area
  • Discovering the key works on a given topic
  • Discovering the key authors on a given topic
  • Getting biographical information on key figures related to your topic

When we talk about reference sources in the context of Biblical studies, we're generally referring collectively to dictionaries and encyclopedias, however, you may also see terms like handbooks, introductions, and companions.

Encyclopedias and handbooks will provide:

  • A broad overview of your topic
  • Sub-topics and related issues
  • Controversies and criticism
  • Key thinkers or researchers in the area
  • References, recommended articles, and links to further reading

Dictionaries will offer a definition of your term and related terms that will be important as you develop your search strategy.

Where can I find them?

Search the library catalogue for biblical dictionaries using this strategy: Subject contains "dictionaries" and Any field contains "Bible OR biblical OR Christian OR Christianity OR theology". This will retrieve dictionaries on a variety of biblical, Christian, or theological topics:

screenshot of library catalogue search with "Subject contains dictionary" AND "Any field contains Bible OR biblical OR Christian OR Christianity OR theology"

If you want to see the most recently published dictionaries first, sort by Date - Newest in the Tweak my Results section. Choose Held by Library if you only want print dictionaries, or Full Text Online if you want to view electronic dictionaries online. Most print dictionaries are available for library use only (located in the Reference collection).

screenshot of search results showing the "Sort by" filter set to "date-newest" and highlighting the "Availability" filter options of "Held by Library" and "Full Text Online"

Search the library catalogue for biblical encyclopedias using this strategy: Subject contains "encyclopedias" and Any field contains "Bible OR biblical OR Christian OR Christianity OR theology". This will retrieve encyclopedias on a variety of biblical, Christian, or theological topics:

screenshot of library catalogue search with "Subject contains encyclopedias" AND "Any field contains Bible OR biblical OR Christian OR Christianity OR theology"

If you want to see the most recently published encyclopedias first, sort by Date - Newest in the Tweak my Results section. Choose Held by Library if you only want print dictionaries, or Full Text Online if you want to view electronic encyclopedias online. Most print encyclopedias are available for library use only (located in the Reference collection).

screenshot of search results showing the "Sort by" filter set to "date-newest" and highlighting the "Availability" filter options of "Held by Library" and "Full Text Online"

Search the library catalogue for handbooks using this strategy: Title contains "handbook" and Any field contains "Bible OR biblical OR Christian OR Christianity OR theology". This will retrieve handbooks on a variety of biblical, Christian, or theological topics:

screenshot of library catalogue search with "Title contains handbooks" AND "Any field contains Bible OR biblical OR Christian OR Christianity OR theology"

If you want to see the most recently published handbooks first, sort by Date - Newest in the Tweak my Results section. Choose Held by Library if you only want print handbooks, or Full Text Online if you want to view electronic handbooks online. Some handbooks are available in the library to borrow (Main Stacks) while others are available for library use only (Reference).

screenshot of search results showing the "Sort by" filter set to "date-newest" and highlighting the "Availability" filter options of "Held by Library" and "Full Text Online"