Skip to Main Content

Using the Library Catalogue

Everything Search

An everything search is a great way to get a broad overview of a topic and potentially find additional search terms to make note of and use in additional searching.

When you perform an everything search, you’re searching hundreds of millions of records from publishers and content aggregators; the number of records is constantly growing as additional data sources are added, so it is an incredibly powerful tool and casts a very large net when you search it for results. Although it is very powerful, it's important to view an everything search as one tool in your toolbox for finding journal articles as it won't find everything that's available in databases.‚Äč

Results in an everything search include books, eBooks, journal articles, open source resources, dissertations, conference proceedings, book reviews, newspaper articles, etc.

Searching for Sources

Go to the library catalogue. When you start typing your topic or search term in the search bar, a drop-down menu will appear. Select the everything option to search for a variety of resources on the topic:

screenshot of library catalogue landing page with search term "misinformation" entered and "everything" selected in the drop-down menu

Alternatively, use the Advanced Search area to enter multiple search terms in different fields.

screenshot of Advanced Search area highlighting the Everything scope and the drop-down menu where you can select to search in different fields

This search retrieves over 13,000 results, far more than the catalogue search! On the search results page, take a look at the left-hand menu where you can see the various resource types represented. You can select these to look at only certain types of resources:

screenshot of search results highlighting number retrieved (over 13,000) and the Resource Type filter

There are other filters worth exploring as well.

You may want to select Peer-reviewed Journals if your instructor has required that your sources need to be peer reviewed, or input a "from" date in Publication Date if your instructor has required that your sources need to be recent:

screenshot of search results with Peer-Reviewed Journals and Publication Date highlighted

The Subject list can be a handy place to look for additional search terms that appear in the results; these might also be relevant to your research topic:

screenshot of search results with Subject filter highlighted

Be sure to check out the Databases list to see which databases these results are retrieved from; you may want to consider doing more targeted searching in one of these databases, since databases offer even more options for refining search results.

screenshot of search results with Databases filter highlighted

Once you've found a resource you want to view in more detail, you can click the green access links on the results page to access it:

  • Get PDF will bring you the article in the format it was printed in (this is often a nice readable format).
  • Read Online and Online Access may bring you to the publisher's site or to the site that the article is hosted on.
  • Full text available may bring you to the library's catalogue or to the publisher's site.

screenshot of search results with green access links highlighted (they may be called: Full Text Available, Get PDF, Read Online, or Online access

Alternatively, click on the title and scroll down to the View Online section, as there may be multiple options for finding the full text online:

screenshot of the View Online section showing 8 possible links to the article

Note: Because an Everything search pulls records in from so many places, these green access links are sometimes unreliable, e.g., the records don't actually have full text, or the link to the record on another platform is broken. If you spot a broken link, please do let us know. Try using Google Scholar to potentially find a source elsewhere, or submit an interlibrary loan request.

Searching for Article Citations

If you're looking for an article, perform an Advanced Search, paste the title of the article into the search box, select the Title option in the drop-down menu, and click Search:

screenshot of the Advanced Search area in the library's catalogue highlighting the Title option in the drop-down menu, and the full title of an article

After you perform your search, click the green Read Online or Full text available links to bring you to the full text in one of the library's databases or through an open source platform:

screenshot of search result which shows the record for the article and highlights the Read Online and Full Text Available links

If these links don't bring you to the full text, try searching Google Scholar for the full text or submitting an interlibrary loan request.